top of page

Cracking The 5 Love Languages Code

Photo byShaira Dela Peña onUnsplash

It’s that time of the year again! When love is in the air, bouquets of roses just waiting to be sold and most importantly the usage of heart-themed elements almost everywhere you look. The atmosphere just screams romance throughout the entire month of February especially the days leading up to Valentine’s Day. The most common traditions of Valentine’s Day include having exquisite meals at fancy restaurants and gifting your partner a card or even a box of chocolates. Valentine’s Day isn’t the only day you should express your love to your partner. In fact, it should be something that you do everyday because love in a relationship goes beyond every 14th of February. But how do you express your love to your partner on a daily basis? Fret not because you will be able to learn just that as we unravel the mysteries of the five love languages through this article.

Words of Affirmation

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

The first out of the five love languages is words of affirmation. According to Jennie Marie Battistin, a licensed marriage therapist at Hope Therapy Centre, words of affirmation can be supportive and emphatic words spoken or written which frequently recognize, identify and acknowledge a person’s behaviour, contributions, successes or challenges. Who wouldn’t want to hear such supportive and encouraging words from time to time? I’m sure most of us do. Words of affirmation are special because they show that you truly love and care for your partner and want the best for them. As Demarco says, “The heart of having words of affirmation as a love language is appreciation. It values substance over appearance and quality over quantity. It fosters empathy and compassion, increases intimacy and aids in our ability to remain calm and content.” So the next time you see your partner having a bad day, go over to them and give them some words of support and encouragement. Trust me, it may seem like a small gesture on your part, but it will definitely mean the world to them.

Quality Time

Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

Next up, we have quality time. Quality time means spending time with your partner without any distractions or disturbances. Putting aside time to spend with your partner shows that you are committed to your relationship. It also gives room for communication with your partner which enables the both of you to communicate your honest feelings and to create an unbreakable bond which is essential for any relationship. Research conducted by research scientists Sarah Flood and Katie Genadek indicates that when a person is with their spouse, they are nearly twice as happy as when they are not. Furthermore, they report that their activities are more meaningful and less stressful. The next time you’re looking for ways to relax and unwind, how about going out on a date night or booking a romantic getaway with your partner? Spend as much quality time you can get with them because those are the moments that will always hold a special place in your heart forever.

Acts Of Service

Photo by Justin Follis on Unsplash

The third love language on this list is acts of services. Acts of services are the physical manifestations of thoughtful gestures. Medina Colaku, M.A., LAc, a holistic therapist, tells mbg, “An act of service entails devoting time and effort, usually in a non-verbal manner. It is literally manifesting itself in tangible ways, implying that actions speak louder than words.” Acts of services help you to acknowledge your partner and make them feel cherished. How about greeting your partner with a hug or kiss when they arrive home? Or giving them a gentle massage after a long day? Remember, with acts of services, it’s always the little things you do that go a long way and ensure a happy and healthy relationship in the long run.


Photo by Mia Golic on Unsplash

Apart from words of affirmation, quality time and acts of services, gifts are another love language that most people are very familiar with. Gift-giving is an act of showing your love through physical means. A gift also serves as a token of appreciation towards the recipient. “The gift itself is nice, but it’s the thought that counts,” relationship coach Julie Nguyen says. It doesn’t matter if the gift that you give your partner is big or small. At the end of day, it’s the genuine intention behind the gift that will surely put a smile on their face when they receive it.

Physical Touch

Photo by Marina Abrosimova on Unsplash

The fifth and final love language is none other than physical touch. Physical touch is the act of showing love through physical gestures such as holding hands or hugs. This assists two people in a romantic relationship in forming a bond, remaining committed to each other. Receiving physical touch from your partner can also help boost your mood. Aside from that, research shows that the release of the chemical oxytocin makes touch from a romantic partner appear especially valuable. Physical touches don’t always have to be sexual. A simple gesture of just holding hands with your partner can showcase forms of intimacy that cannot be described by words.

These five love languages may seem small but they carry a lot of meaning behind them. No two people share the same love language so it’s ok to have a completely different love language from your partner. The most important thing is to communicate about this with your partner and find out ways to incorporate your love language into your relationship. I hope that this article has helped you to better understand the five love languages and maybe helped you discover your own love language as well. Feel free to let us know what you think about this topic as it’s for the youth, by the youth and about the youth!

By: Natasha Ann Miranda


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page